Centre d'intervention pour la petite enfance

Le Centre d'intervention pour la petite enfance (EYIC) offre une variété de services pour les enfants de la naissance à l'âge légal de la scolarité avec une gamme de besoins éducatifs spéciaux et de handicaps.

Les équipes EYIC sont basées sur le site de l'école Oakleigh et Acorn Assessment Center a également une base à l'école Colindale. Les enfants et le personnel ont pleinement accès à la vaste gamme d'installations des deux sites. Le Centre d’intervention pour la petite enfance et l’école d’Oakleigh sont organisés séparément et les enfants qui relèvent de l’EYIC bénéficient d’un large éventail de services éducatifs à l’âge légal de la scolarité.

L'EYIC a trois départements, chacun répondant aux besoins des enfants de la petite enfance ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux et des handicaps d'une manière différente.

Voir: Organigramme du Centre d'intervention pour la petite enfance

Centre d'évaluation Acorn

Le Centre Acorn est basé sur deux sites; un à l'école Oakleigh à Whetstone et un à l'école primaire Colindale. Acorn relève de la direction d'Oakleigh School & Early Years Intervention Center. Acorn est doté d'un directeur adjoint, dans chaque classe il y a un enseignant et trois à quatre assistants de soutien à l'apprentissage selon les besoins. Chaque site offre une piscine, une aire de jeux douce et des possibilités pour un environnement sensoriel.

Équipe consultative SEND de la petite enfance de Barnet

À partir d'avril 2021, l'équipe d'inclusion préscolaire et l'équipe d'enseignement préscolaire ont fusionné pour créer un service spécialisé de conseil et d'intervention pour la petite enfance, l'équipe consultative SEND pour la petite enfance. L'équipe consultative SEND de la petite enfance propose une intervention aux enfants qui présentent des retards ou des difficultés de développement, de moins de 5 ans et qui vivent dans le quartier londonien de Barnet.

Early Years Intervention Centre

The Early Years Intervention Centre (EYIC) provides a variety of services for children from birth to statutory school age with a range of special educational needs and disabilities.

The EYIC teams are based on the site of Oakleigh School and Acorn Assessment Centre also has a base at Colindale School. The children and staff have full access to the extensive range of facilities on both sites. The Early Years Intervention Centre and Oakleigh School are organised separately and the children who come under the EYIC go on to a wide range of educational provision at statutory school age.

The EYIC has three departments, each meeting the needs of early years children with special educational needs and disabilities in a different way.

See: Early Years Intervention Centre Organisational Chart

Acorn Assessment Centre

The Acorn Centre is based on two sites; one at Oakleigh School in Whetstone and one at Colindale Primary School. Acorn comes under the management of Oakleigh School & Early Years Intervention Centre. Acorn is staffed by an Assistant Head, in each class there is a class teacher and three to four Learning Support Assistants depending on need. Each site offers a swimming pool, soft play area and opportunities for a sensory environment.

Pre-school Teaching Team

Barnet’s Pre-school Teaching Team is based on the Oakleigh School site and is comprised of specialist teachers and learning support assistants. The team offers home based early intervention and assessment to the children and their families following a range of models including Portage. We accept referrals for pre-school aged children (0-5) with complex learning and developmental needs.

Pre-school Inclusion Team

The Pre-school Inclusion Team is comprised of Area Special Educational Needs Co-ordinators (Area SENCOs) who support inclusion of children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) in Barnet’s more than 120 private, voluntary and independent early years settings and children’s centres. The Pre-school Inclusion Team also support inclusion for children with SEND in childminding settings.