Parent/Carer Workshops

The workshops aim to develop and support the Oakleigh parent community.

Parent Workshop March 2017

Out of a total of eighty school families, parents or carers from forty families have taken part in workshop activities over the course of the last year.

"An opportunity - to meet people from all backgrounds/cultures with the common interest of a special child and to share experiences and ideas / to celebrate the child and their achievements"

Richard Barton's role as a workshop facilitator is to allow people to have a space to talk and a chance to listen to each other. To design the workshops, he combines his knowledge of theatre practice with his experience of working in schools for children with special educational needs.

"I did not expect the morning to be so much fun!"

More details on the Oakleigh Parent Workshops can be found in the following article written by Richard for Issue 60 of SEN Magazine.

You can email Richard at: richard.barton@oakleigh.barnet.sch.uk

Workshop Dates 2017-2018

During the school year 2017-18, we will be offering the following workshops for parents/carers.

Invitation fliers will be sent out in advance of each workshop, please contact the school office for more information.

Date: Workshop Details:
Thursday 21st September Meet the professionals
2nd and 3rd October Nurse Drop in – Family room
Thursday 19th October Puberty
Mon 30th Oct
Friday 3rd Nov
Mon 6th Nov
Behaviour drop in
Wednesday 15th November Sensory needs –Occupational Therapist
Thursday 7th December Managing family life - psychotherapist
Wednesday 17th January Sleep clinic - Millpond
Wednesday 21st February Dental care - Oak lane clinic
Wednesday 14th March Toilet training
Wednesday 25th April SENDIAS
Thursday 10th May Strategies to support eating at home – Speech & Language Therapists
Wednesday 13th June 2018 Adult with Autism speaker – Joint with Mapledown parents
Wednesday 11th July Barnet Carers and BYCAS -
TBC Hand under hand and responsive environment

Download the Parent/Carer Workshops from 2016-2017*

Requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader