راشيل بريستون / مساعد رئيس الجوزة

مركز تقييم الجوزة

يعتمد مركز Acorn على موقعين ؛ واحدة في مدرسة Queenswell Infants في Whetstone وواحدة في مدرسة Colindale الابتدائية. يقع Acorn تحت إدارة مدرسة Oakleigh ومركز التدخل في السنوات المبكرة.

يلبي مركز تقييم Acorn احتياجات الأطفال في سن ما قبل المدرسة الذين لديهم مجموعة واسعة من الاحتياجات التعليمية الخاصة / الإعاقات (إرسال). ويشمل ذلك الأطفال الذين يعانون من حالات طبية محددة ، وإعاقات جسدية ، واضطرابات اجتماعية وتواصلية ، وإعاقات حسية ، وحالات طيف التوحد و / أو صعوبات تعلم أخرى.

يتم تقييم احتياجات الأطفال على مدار فترة زمنية ، مع تلقي تدخل متعدد التخصصات لمساعدتهم على إحراز تقدم وتحقيق إمكاناتهم. يُعلم التقييم المستمر عملية التقييم القانوني إذا لزم الأمر ويساعد في تحديد الموارد التي سيحتاجها الأطفال في وضعهم التعليمي التالي.

يتبع الأطفال منهج مؤسسة السنوات الأولى الذي تم تقسيمه وتكييفه ليناسب احتياجات التعلم الفردية الخاصة بهم. إلى جانب ذلك ، يقوم الموظفون بتنفيذ الأهداف التي قدمها معالج النطق واللغة وأخصائي العلاج الطبيعي والمعالج المهني الذين يعملون جنبًا إلى جنب مع موظفي Acorn في أوقات مختلفة على مدار الأسبوع. 

يشارك الآباء في تحديد والعمل على الأهداف والنتائج مع الموظفين. كل طفل لديه خطة تعلم شخصية ، والتي تمت صياغتها بالتعاون مع العائلات والمهنيين ؛ تتم مراجعة هذا وتحديثه في ثلاث فترات شهرية ، أو بما يتماشى مع عملية تقييم خطة التعليم والصحة والرعاية.

لدينا مدخلات من معالج بالدراما والحركة و / أو معالج موسيقى قادر على العمل مع الأطفال الفرديين أو تسهيل جلسات الوالدين / الأطفال بعد قبول الإحالة إلى الخدمة. بالإضافة إلى هذا ، ستتاح للأطفال فرصة الوصول إما إلى مسبح العلاج المائي الموجود في مدرسة أوكلي أو السباحة خارج الموقع في مسبح محلي مرة واحدة في الأسبوع ومنطقة اللعب اللينة وفرص البيئة الحسية.

لدينا أيضًا عامل دعم عائلي قادر على تقديم زيارات منزلية لعائلات Acorn للمساعدة وتقديم المشورة للآباء ومقدمي الرعاية حول أي مشكلات قد تواجهها العائلات. سيكون معلمو الفصل ، إلى جانب دعم الرئيس المساعد ، عاملين أساسيين للأطفال في برنامج الدعم المبكر ، إذا رغبت أسرهم في ذلك.

الأطفال الذين يأتون إلى Acorn لديهم الفرصة لحضور خمسة أيام في الأسبوع لمدة 3 ساعات (إما في الصباح أو بعد الظهر) ، مما يشكل 15 ساعة من استحقاق الحضانة. نظرًا لارتفاع الطلب على الأماكن في Acorn ، نشجع الأطفال على حضور جميع الجلسات الخمس. ومع ذلك ، سوف نأخذ في الاعتبار الظروف الفردية للأسرة ؛ من المتوقع أن يحضر كل طفل 5 جلسات أسبوعياً على الأقل.

يتم تشجيع الآباء / مقدمي الرعاية على زيارة مركز تقييم Acorn الأقرب إلى منزلهم إذا شعر المهنيين المعنيين بأطفالهم أن هذا قد يكون مكانًا مناسبًا لمرحلة ما قبل المدرسة. عادةً ما تأتي الإحالات إلى Acorn عبر متخصصين في السنوات الأولى. تتم مناقشة القبول في لجنة قبول Acorn التي تقام في فصل الربيع من كل عام.

كما سيقدم Acorn الدعم للعائلات من خلال تقديم ورش العمل على مدار العام. ستركز ورش العمل هذه على مجالات مختلفة من التعلم والتطوير وسيتم تطويرها استجابة للحاجة التي يحددها الآباء / مقدمو الرعاية. وقد تشمل "التواصل بما في ذلك السلوك" ، و "التدريب على استخدام المرحاض" ، و "المعالجة الحسية" ، و "جلسة يقودها المعالج النفسي للأطفال والمراهقين" و "النوم".

لمزيد من المعلومات حول مركز تقييم Acorn ، يرجى الاتصال بـ Rachel Preston ، مساعد الرئيس ، على 020 8205 6393 (Acorn Colindale Office) ، 020 8445 2818 (Acorn Queenswell Office) أو 07827 993154.

سياسة قبول البلوط - سبتمبر 2020

Rachel Preston / Acorn Assistant Head

Acorn Assessment Centre

The Acorn Centre is based on two sites; one at Queenswell Infants School in Whetstone and one at Colindale Primary School. Acorn comes under the management of Oakleigh School & Early Years Intervention Centre.

The Acorn Assessment Centre caters for pre-school children who have a wide range of Special Educational Needs / Disabilities (SEND). These include children with specific medical conditions, physical disabilities, social and communication disorders, sensory impairments, autism spectrum conditions and/or other learning difficulties.

The children’s needs are assessed over a period of time, whilst also receiving multi-disciplinary intervention to help them make progress and achieve their potential.  The on-going assessment informs the Statutory Assessment process if necessary and helps determine the resources the children will need in their next educational placement.

The children follow the Early Years Foundation Curriculum which is broken down and adapted to suit their individual learning needs. Alongside this the staff implement targets given by the Speech and Language Therapist, Physiotherapist and Occupational Therapist who work alongside Acorn staff at different times across the week. 

Parents are involved in setting and working on targets and outcomes with the staff. Each child has a Personal Learning Plan, which is formulated collaboratively with families and professionals; this is reviewed and updated at three monthly intervals, or in line with the Educational, Health and Care Plan assessment process.

We have input from a Drama and Movement Therapist and/or a Music Therapist who are able to work with individual children or facilitate parent /child sessions following the acceptance of a referral to the service. In addition to this children will have the opportunity to access either a hydro-therapy pool based at Oakleigh School or an offsite swim at a local pool once a week, soft play area and opportunities for a sensory environment.

We also have a Family Support Worker who is able to offer home visits to Acorn families to help and advise parents and carers about any issues the families may have. Class teachers, along with the support of the Assistant Head, will be keyworkers for the children on the Early Support Programme, if their families wish.

Children who come to Acorn have the opportunity to attend five days a week for 3 hour sessions (either in the morning or the afternoon), making up 15 hours of nursery entitlement. Due to high demand for places at Acorn, we encourage children to attend all 5 sessions. We will take into account individual family circumstances however; the expectation is that each child attends for a minimum of 3 sessions a week.

Parents/Carers are encouraged to visit the Acorn Assessment Centre closest to their home if the professionals involved with their child feel this may be a suitable pre-school placement. Referrals to Acorn usually come via early years professionals. Admissions are discussed at the Acorn admissions panel which is held in the Spring term each year.

Acorn will also offer support to families through the delivery of workshops throughout the year. These workshops will focus on different areas of learning and development and will be developed in response to need identified by parents/carers. They may include 'communication including behaviour', 'toilet training', 'sensory processing', ‘a session led by our Child and Adolescent Psychotherapist' and 'sleep'.

For further information regarding the Acorn Assessment Centre, please contact Rachel Preston, Assistant Head, on 020 8205 6393 (Acorn Colindale Office), 020 8445 2818 (Acorn Queenswell Office) or 07827 993154.

Acorn Admissions Policy - September 2020